Databases

Databases

With your library card number you have access to learning and information 24/7 with these easy to use databases.

Homework Help with Brainfuse HelpNow

Brainfuse HelpNow offers a comprehensive suite of online academic services designed to support many learning needs and styles. Providing live tutoring in our online classroom, the ability to upload assignments for review, and many more tools to help you master your classes!brainfuse1

Test Prep with Brainfuse LearnNow

Visit our online assessment library to view lessons, take practice quizzes, standardized tests (SAT, ACT, GED, GRE, ASVAB, and more), and practice subject specific tests-like math and science. Get results instantly and, if you choose, share your results with one of our tutors for a targeted skills building session. brain-fuse learn

Job Help with Brainfuse JobNow

JobNow provides you with practical tools to help you get a job. Access to amazing career resources like informative, easy-to-use, and free Internet resources for job seekers; personality and career assessments; resume building help; interview coaching services; and more!job-now

Novelist Plus

Looking for more books like your favorites? Want to find a new author or series? Can’t remember all of the titles in a series? NoveList Plus has the answers! Get recommended readings lists, book discussion guides and more! NoveList Plus is the premiere database of reading recommendations, available through libraries around the world. It is a comprehensive source of information about books that includes expert recommendations, reviews, articles, lists and more. 

novplus_button_150x75

Consumer Reports

Consumer Reports enables consumers to make better purchasing decisions on the products they are shopping for. Consumer Reports provides ratings and reviews, recommendations and buying advice for thousands of products and services from appliances to cars. 

ConsumerReports.org_button_200x100

America’s Newspapers from Newsbank

The electronic editions of record for valuable local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers–all in one easy-to-search database. Each paper provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.

webButton-midweek - Copy webButton-dailyChronicle - Copy webButton-AWN - Copy

Mango Languages

Getting ready for a trip to a foreign country? Ready to learn a new language just because? There are 100 languages to choose from. Follow the link and create your account to get started and track your progress.


 

Mango: Little Pim Language Learning

Mango is for kids too. We’ve partnered with Little Pim to create an online language learning system for ages 0-6. Little Pim, an award winning multimedia company, introduces children to foreign language in a way they can understand and enjoy. Accessible and engaging for young children, the method incorporates words and themes that are relevant to the child’s daily life, and research shows that early language learning enhances verbal development, social and cognitive skills.

 little-pim

Encyclopedia Britannica

Want something other than Wikipedia? Search the Encyclopedia Britannica whether it’s frogs or physics, gardening or geography. You can also search the Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus without ads.

encyclopedia britannica online library edition logo

First Search

A collection of databases including Worldcat, the OCLC catalog of books and other materials located in libraries worldwide. This database is provided by the Illinois State Library. To log onto FirstSearch, use the Authorization: 100110246 and Password: sycamore.

oclc_firstsearch

Heritage Quest

Use Heritage Quest Online to find your ancestors, trace their paths across America, and learn what life was like in the areas where they settled. This site combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the digitized version of the popular UMI® Genealogy & Local History collection and other valuable content.

heritagequest

Tumble Books

TumbleBookLibrary is an online collection of animated, talking picture books which teach kids the joy of reading in a format they’ll love. TumbleBooks are created by adding animation, sound, music and narration to existing picture books in order to produce an electronic picture book which you can read, or have read to you.

 

Tumblebooks-banner

Ebsco Host

Ebsco Host is an online collection of non-fiction ebooks.

 

WhyEBSCOhost_About_350